top of page


Popularly known as Socky, Professor O’Sullivan was also the President of the Florida College English Association, which named him its 2003 Colleague of the Year. During his career he has received numerous grants and awards, including two silver medals in the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education's National Professor of the Year competition, four teaching awards at Rollins, including the Rita Borstein Award for Scholarship, three awards from the Florida Historical Society for his writing and films, and the Florida Magazine Association’s 2015 Charlie Award as Columnist of the Year. A former teamster and jail guard and a founding partner of Dan McGuinness Irish Pubs in Nashville, he is also publisher of Angel Alley Press, Director of the Florida Center for Shakespeare Studies, and a partner in both the Music City Brewing Company and the Franklin Abbey Pub.

In addition to his teaching and research at Rollins, Professor O'Sullivan has offered workshops and teacher institutes for many organizations, including the Great Lakes College Association, the English Speaking Union, and the Florida Humanities Council. He also lectures widely on topics ranging from Shakespeare, British Art, and Irish Culture to Florida Studies, mystery novels, and film.



2019 Winter Park names March 17, St. Patrick's Day,

     Maurice "Socky" O'Sullivan Day

2017 Grand Marshal, Winter Park St. Patrick’s Day            Parade 

2015 Florida Magazine Association, Charlie Award for        Writing Excellence (Columnist of the Year) 

2012 Florida Historical Society’s David C. Brotemarkle      Award for Creative Achievement 

2010 Florida Historical Society’s Patrick Smith Award 

2005 Bornstein Award for Faculty Scholarship 

2003 Distinguished Colleague Award, Florida College        English Association (“for his extraordinary                      contributions to his discipline and his state”) 

2002 William Fremont Blackman Medal (Rollins                  College Trustees Recognition for distinguished              service) 

2001 Rhea Marsh Smith Winter Park History Research      Grant

2000 Hugh F. McKean Award (“by the senior class in          recognition of outstanding teaching”) 

1998 Edgar Nominee (Mystery Writers of America) 

1994 The Hugh F. McKean Award ("selected by                  students to symbolize outstanding teaching") 

1992 Florida Historical Society’s Charlton Tebeau              Award for the Outstanding Book of the Year 

1990 Rollins College Commencement Speaker                  (Selected by Senior Class) 

1990 Wildcat Pride Award (Winter Park High School) 

1988 Hugh and Jeannette McKean Grant 

1987 Silver Medal Award, Council for The                          Advancement and Support of Education 

     National Professor of the Year Award (Carnegie    

     Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching ["for    

     extraordinary contributions to the lives and careers  

     of undergraduate students and to the intellectual

     welfare of society"]) 

1986 Silver Medal Award, Council for The

     Advancement and Support of Education 

     National Professor of the Year Award (for

     "achievements in creative planning, producing, and

     promoting of programs and communications") 

1985 Distinguished Teaching Award, Rollins College 

1983 Wilbur Dorsett Fellowship (English-Speaking


1982 Omicron Delta Kappa 

1979-80 Arthur Vining Davis Fellow (Rollins College

     Teaching Award) 

1966-69 University Fellow, Case Western Reserve


1966-69 NDEA Fellow, Case Western Reserve


1966 Fairfield University Award in the Arts, Classical


1965 All Northern England First Team, University of

     Manchester Varsity Basketball


1967-69 Ph.D

Case Western Reserve University

Cleveland, OH

1966-67 M.A.

Case Western Reserve University

Cleveland, OH

1962-66 B.A

cum laude, Fairfield University

Fairfield, CT


Year spent at University of Manchester

Manchester, England



Professor of English and Irish Studies

Rollins College


Chair, Department of English

Rollins College


Kenneth Curry Professor of Literature

Fairfield, CT


Chair, Department of English

Rollins College


Chair, Department of English

Rollins College


Chair, Irish Studies

Rollins College


Chair, Department of English

Rollins College


Associate Professor

Rollins College


Assistant Professor

Ohio State University

bottom of page